Tsleil-Waututh Nation Adamantly Opposes Kinder Morgan Pipeline Expansion, To Sign International Treaty and Host Pipeline Summit

Tsleil-Waututh Nation Adamantly Opposes Kinder Morgan Pipeline Expansion, To Sign International Treaty and Host Pipeline Summit

Support our journalism. Become a Patron!
April 17, 2013

For immediate release – April 16, 2013

Tsleil-Waututh/Coast Salish Territory, Vancouver, BC – First Nations, environmentalists and public leaders will gather to stimulate discussion and raise public awareness about expansion of the Canadian tar sands and oil industry infrastructure during a one-day conference hosted by the Tsleil-Waututh Nation on April 19.

The conference at the Sheraton Wall Centre in Vancouver will commence with Tsleil-Waututh Chief Maureen Thomas signing the International Treaty to Protect the Sacred from Tar Sands Projects. The treaty was created by the Yankton Sioux and Pawnee Nations to raise awareness for the unacceptable risks to the soil, waters, air, sacred sites, and way of life of indigenous peoples. It has since been signed by more than 10 Indigenous Nations since its creation in January 2013. The Tsleil-Waututh is the first Nation to sign the Treaty opposing Kinder Morgan.

“By signing this treaty, we are building alliances with our relations east, west, north and south to protect our lands and waters,” said Chief Maureen Thomas of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation. “People from all backgrounds enjoy Vancouver’s great quality of life and we need to unite to protect this environment for all of our future generations. The Tsleil-Waututh Nation continues to oppose the Kinder Morgan Pipeline Project, which would send 400 tankers a year through the Salish Sea.”

The conference will look at the concept of transitioning from oil-generated energy to alternative forms of renewable energy production and will feature speakers from a range of different backgrounds including Grand Chief Stewart Phillip, President, Union of BC Indian Chiefs, Paul Kariya, Executive Director, Clean Energy BC, and Dave Coles, President of the Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union. It is supported by the City of Vancouver and City of Burnaby.

“Our future depends on a swift, aggressive transition to renewable energy,” said Mayor Gregor Robertson, City of Vancouver. “For a healthy economy and environment, BC and Canadian governments must halt the subsidies and reckless expansion of fossil fuels, and focus now on creating jobs and prosperity with clean energy and technology.”

“We must develop energy policies that focus on meeting North American energy requirements, not on profiting multi-national corporations at the expense of our environmental security,” said Mayor Derek Corrigan, City of Burnaby. “Risking an environmental disaster to provide energy supply for export is unacceptable policy and practice.”

The International Treaty to Protect the Sacred from Tar Sands Projects will be signed by Chief Maureen Thomas and witnessed by National Chief Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, Assembly of First Nations at a ceremony open to the media in the Port McNeill Room at the Sheraton Wall Centre at 12:30 pm on Friday, April 19, 2013. The signing is followed by the West Coast Oil Summit and Gala Dinner from 2 pm to midnight.

To RSVP, please contact Hollie Latulippe, Manager Communications, Raven Events and Communications, at 604-312-3498 orhollie@ravenevents.ca. For more information about the West Coast Oil Pipeline Summit, please visit www.twnation.ca.

– 30 –

Hollie Latulippe
Manager Communications
Raven Events and Communications
c: 1-604-312-3498

Download: West Coast Oil Summit Backgrounder
Download: West Coast Oil Summit Key Language

We're fighting for our lives

Indigenous Peoples are putting their bodies on the line and it's our responsibility to make sure you know why. That takes time, expertise and resources - and we're up against a constant tide of misinformation and distorted coverage. By supporting IC you're empowering the kind of journalism we need, at the moment we need it most.

independent uncompromising indigenous
Except where otherwise noted, articles on this website are licensed under a Creative Commons License