The nation of Belize is located on the Caribbean side of northern Central America. It is bounded on the north and northwest by Mexico, on the east by the Caribbean Sea, and on the south and west by Guatemala.

Belize has the smallest population of all the non-island sovereign states in the Americas. The majority of the population is of mixed ethic origin being either English Creoles or Spanish Mestizos. Other groups include indigenous Maya, Garinagu, Europeans (English, Dutch/German and Spanish), Chinese, East Indians, and a number of, Lebanese, West Africans, Koreans, Central Americans, and expatriate Americans.

Minority Rights Group International, World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous Group launches Maya Land Registry to Protect Ancestral Territory

13 Maya Villagers Stand Trial in Belize

Maya Land Rights & Governance

We're fighting for our lives

Indigenous Peoples are putting their bodies on the line and it's our responsibility to make sure you know why. That takes time, expertise and resources - and we're up against a constant tide of misinformation and distorted coverage. By supporting IC you're empowering the kind of journalism we need, at the moment we need it most.

independent uncompromising indigenous
Except where otherwise noted, articles on this website are licensed under a Creative Commons License