The Mohawk (Kanienkehaka or Kanien’kehá:ka, meaning “People of the Flint”) are one of the five founding Nations of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. The Kanienkehaka inhabited part of what is now known as the Mohawk Valley in New York State. Traditional Mohawk homelands extended north to the St. Lawrence River, east to Mahican territory, west to Oneida territory and south to Lenape territory.

Since the Kanienkehaka were located to the east of the other Haudenosaunee Nations, it was referred to as the “Keepers of the Eastern Door.” They were responsible for guarding the Confederacy from threats from the east.

Today the Kanienkehaka inhabit eight communities in what is now the provinces of Ontario and Quebec in Canada; and the state of New York in the United States.

You can learn more about the Kanienkehaka at http://www.kahnawakelonghouse.com/index.php?mid=2

Kanehsatake Declaration Against TransCanada’s Energy East Pipeline

“Enska Entsitewa’wehnón:ni” To Be Of One Mind

After 800 Years the Mohawk Nation at Akwesasne Endures

We're fighting for our lives

Indigenous Peoples are putting their bodies on the line and it's our responsibility to make sure you know why. That takes time, expertise and resources - and we're up against a constant tide of misinformation and distorted coverage. By supporting IC you're empowering the kind of journalism we need, at the moment we need it most.

independent uncompromising indigenous
Except where otherwise noted, articles on this website are licensed under a Creative Commons License